If These Boots Could Talk….

If these boots could talk….

I would tell you many stories, some happy, others heartbreaking. I would tell you of the dirt and the filth I’ve had to drudge through to get my paramedic to where she needed to be. I’ve been in some disgusting environments that would make regular boots run the other direction. I’ve heard my paramedic comfort a child after being in a car accident. I’ve heard her calm a rape victim. I’ve heard her wait for the cry of a newborn baby after it’s delivered. I’ve also heard my paramedic deliver bad news to a family hoping and praying their loved one would start breathing again. I’ve been there when my paramedic allowed herself to cry, usually on the way home from work, after a hard call or maybe a call that brought up other memories.

I’ve kept her feet protected at house fires and car accidents. I’ve held her steady walking through snow, mud, and rain. Whenever I’ve gotten filthy, my paramedic will give me a good scrub and polish so I can look my best.

If I could talk, I would tell you that I work hard to protect my paramedic and make sure she goes home safely at the end of every shift. I look a little rough, but I wear my scuffs with pride, knowing that I’ve done my job well.

Leave a comment